Blog / Latest in AI

Latest in AI

OpenAI cancels ChatGPT Pro cut and doubles Pro and Business usage limits

Unicorn News Desk ·

Abstract illustration of three capacity bars each extended to double length, with a downward arrow fading away

Key facts

Announced
October 29, 2026, effective the same day
Doubled
Pro 100, Pro 500, lower-allowance Pro 200, Business Premium
Cancelled
Planned Pro 200 Work and Codex cut (20× to 10× Plus, per Kingy AI)
Unchanged
Plus usage
Existing subscribers
Receive the new allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal

OpenAI on October 29, 2026 cancelled a planned cut to the Work and Codex allowance on its ChatGPT Pro 200 plan. It also doubled usage limits for Pro 100, Pro 500 and Business Premium, effective the same day. The most important fact for anyone budgeting around Codex, OpenAI’s coding agent, is that the reduction many Pro 200 customers expected after October 29 is no longer happening, while subscribers on several other tiers get more capacity at the same price.

This is the first Unicorn API article on OpenAI’s ChatGPT Pro plans. It covers what changed this week and how the reversal fits with earlier changes to the plans.

What OpenAI announced on October 29

The announcement came in a post from the account @thsottiaux, which daily.dev reports was reposted by OpenAI’s account. The post reads:

We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today. We heard your kind feedback and won’t be reducing usage limits for Pro 200, so your Work and Codex usage will stay the same. We’re also going to continue offering extended limits for dots for now, and usage of your dot will still continue to be separate from your default usage.

That text comes from the post as reproduced by Digg. The post also says OpenAI will “keep shipping better models and other efficiency improvements that increase your effective usage over time”. It gives no numerical allowances, before or after, and does not define “dots” or say when the extended limits for them will end.

According to Kingy AI, OpenAI’s updated Pro subscription guide confirms the change on October 29, and OpenAI’s October 29 release notes name Pro and Business Premium in the announcement heading and say their Work and Codex usage is increasing.

Who actually gets double, and who keeps what they had

The post says “doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers” but also says Pro 200 Work and Codex usage “will stay the same”. Those two statements look contradictory. Kingy AI’s reading of OpenAI’s updated Pro guide resolves them: Pro 200 subscribers were not all on the same allowance before the announcement.

Plan or account situationMonthly priceWork and Codex change
Pro 100$100Twice the previous allowance
Pro 200, lower allowance$200Doubled to match the higher allowance
Pro 200, already on higher allowance$200Higher allowance kept; planned reduction cancelled
Pro 500$500Twice the previous allowance
Business Premium$125 per user per month (monthly billing)Increasing; multiplier not specified
Plus$20Unchanged

Source for the table: Kingy AI, citing OpenAI’s Pro guide, release notes and billing documentation.

Kingy AI puts the distinction plainly: an existing Pro 200 customer who already had the higher allowance keeps it, and is not being promised another doubling on top. The change removes the gap between two people paying $200 rather than rewarding the group that was already on the higher level. New subscriptions get the updated allowance, and existing subscribers receive it automatically without waiting for renewal.

Two identical subscription cards whose usage meters end at the same level
Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance move up to the higher one; those already there keep it. · Illustration

The cut that was cancelled, and the history behind it

Kingy AI reports that, under changes announced in September, the Pro 200 Work and Codex allowance was set to move from the historically described 20× Plus level to 10× Plus. Eligible existing customers were temporarily protected through October 29, and the reduction was expected after that. The outlet notes those multiples describe the earlier announcement, not a fixed message quota.

The confusion has been building since spring. In April, The Decoder reported that OpenAI employee Thibault Sottiaux tried to clarify how the then-new $100 plan differed from the $200 plan. According to Sottiaux, the $100 plan offered at least ten times Plus usage and the $200 plan at least twenty times. Both figures reflected a temporary 2x boost running through May 31, and the $200 plan had carried that boost since February without OpenAI explicitly documenting it. The Decoder reported that once the boost expired, usage could fall to at least five times and ten times Plus. Sottiaux did not directly confirm those base values. OpenAI’s pricing page at the time listed “5x or 20x usage,” which led many users to assume the boost would produce ten times and forty times.

The pattern across the year is the same: allowances described as multiples of Plus, temporary boosts, and different subscribers on the same price receiving different capacity. The October 29 change removes one of those splits for Pro 200. It still does not publish absolute numbers.

Business Premium: what is documented and what is not

Business Premium is named in the announcement, but Kingy AI says the OpenAI text it inspected does not establish a multiplier for Premium. The outlet therefore does not assign it a new ratio. Builders on Business workspaces should treat “doubled” for Premium as the announcement’s wording, not a documented figure.

OpenAI’s Business help page explains how the seats work. ChatGPT Business includes ChatGPT, ChatGPT Work and Codex, and offers Standard and Premium seats. Premium seats offer more included usage for Work and Codex, while individual ChatGPT model allowances are separate. The page states that a Premium seat’s higher Work and Codex allowance “does not mean every ChatGPT model or feature has a higher limit”.

The page lists separate Chat allowances for the top model option:

  • Business Standard includes 15 Pro messages per month, shared across GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro.
  • Business Premium includes 50 Pro messages per week, shared across the same two models. Switching between them does not reset the allowance.
  • These Chat allowances are separate from Work and Codex usage.

For GPT-6 Astra, the model behind GPT-6 Pro, Standard seats include limited Astra usage within their existing Work and Codex allowance, while Premium seats can use their full existing allowance for it. After included usage runs out, extra Astra usage can draw on purchased workspace credits if spending controls allow. None of the sources says whether the October 29 change alters the Chat message counts. The announcement concerns usage limits generally and Work and Codex in particular.

On pricing, Kingy AI reports, citing OpenAI’s Business billing guide, that Standard costs $25 per user per month on monthly billing ($20 equivalent on annual billing) and Premium costs $125 ($100 equivalent on annual billing). A workspace needs at least two paid seats, and the two seat types can be mixed.

Two abstract workspace seats, one receiving a wider stream of work than the other
Business Premium seats carry a larger Work and Codex allowance than Standard seats. · Illustration

What it means for builders using Codex and ChatGPT Work

The change matters most to developers who use Codex or ChatGPT Work as a daily tool on a subscription rather than through metered API billing. Kingy AI notes that anyone considering an upgrade only to avoid the announced Pro 200 reduction should reassess their current plan before paying more. Prices did not change: the announcement is about included usage, not a change to the monthly price. Kingy AI lists the individual lineup as Free at $0, Go at $8, Plus at $20, Pro 100 at $100, Pro 200 at $200 and Pro 500 at $500. Pro 500 includes Ultrafast access.

Practical points from the sources:

  • No action needed. Existing subscribers get the new allowance automatically.
  • Usage still varies by task. OpenAI’s Business page says Work and Codex usage depends on the model, task size and reasoning effort, so a doubled allowance does not translate into a fixed number of tasks.
  • Automatic reasoning still counts. ChatGPT can add reasoning while Instant is selected, which may draw on the reasoning allowance. This can be adjusted under Settings > General > Higher intelligence.
  • “Unlimited” has a narrow meaning. OpenAI says virtually unlimited access applies to Instant chat only and does not make reasoning, Pro, ChatGPT Work, Codex or other tools unlimited.
  • Tooling version. Astra requires Codex CLI version 0.153.0 or newer.

The sources cover ChatGPT subscription allowances. None of them addresses API rate limits or API pricing.

How users reacted, and the open questions

daily.dev summarises the community reaction across more than 1,100 comments as 30% positive, 45% mixed and 25% skeptical. It reports that the discussion is dominated by confusion over whether this is a real doubling or just OpenAI cancelling a planned halving for Pro 200. Pro 100 and Pro 500 users generally see it as a genuine win, while Plus subscribers feel ignored. Digg counts 3.9 million combined views across 25 sources for the story.

Several questions remain open:

  • Absolute numbers. The announcement gives no before-and-after allowances. Without them, “double” can only be measured against an earlier baseline that was itself described in multiples of Plus.
  • Business Premium’s ratio. OpenAI’s text names Premium but does not specify its multiplier, per Kingy AI.
  • Dots. Extended limits for “dots” continue “for now,” with no definition and no end date given.
  • Durability. This year’s earlier boosts were temporary, with an end date. The October 29 post does not describe the new limits as temporary, but it does not commit to a duration either.

What to watch next

The next signal is documentation. The announcement promised doubled limits but published no figures, and OpenAI’s help pages describe allowances in relative terms tied to seat type, model and reasoning effort. Watch for OpenAI’s Pro and Business guides to state a Business Premium multiplier, for any end date attached to the extended “dots” limits, and for whether Plus, left unchanged this time, gets its own adjustment. The post’s promise of “better models and other efficiency improvements that increase your effective usage over time” is also worth tracking: under that framing, the amount of work a subscription covers can change without any change to the stated limit.

Frequently asked questions

Did OpenAI double ChatGPT Pro usage limits?

Yes. On October 29, 2026, OpenAI announced doubled usage limits for Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business Premium, effective that day. For Pro 200, Kingy AI reports that only subscribers on the lower allowance are doubled up to the higher level; those already on the higher level keep it.

Is the Pro 200 usage cut still happening?

No. The announcement says OpenAI won't be reducing usage limits for Pro 200, so Work and Codex usage stays the same. Kingy AI reports the earlier plan would have moved Pro 200 from 20× to 10× the Plus level after October 29.

Do ChatGPT Plus subscribers get more usage?

No. According to Kingy AI's reading of OpenAI's updated Pro guide, Plus usage is unchanged. daily.dev reports that some Plus subscribers felt ignored.

Do existing subscribers have to wait for renewal?

No. Kingy AI reports that existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal, and new subscriptions get it from the start.

Did ChatGPT Pro prices change?

No. The change concerns included usage, not prices. Kingy AI lists Pro 100 at $100, Pro 200 at $200 and Pro 500 at $500 a month.